Poodle Cost to own$53,397 First year$7,295 Per year after the first$3,421 Median lifespan14 yrs US popularity#6 of 202
Poodle

Photo: Tim Wilson from Blaine, MN, USA, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Non-Sporting group

How much does a Poodle cost?

At a measured median of 14 years, Poodles outlive most dogs, which means more years of food, grooming and routine care. Owning one runs about $53,397 across those years, or roughly $3,421 a year after the first. The largest measured figure on this page is periodontal disease, where 29% were seen for it in a year of veterinary care. Health costs are not folded into the figure above, because the evidence is not strong enough to put a single number on them. They are set out separately, each in the units the study used.

Cost to own$53,397Over 14 years, recommended care
First year$7,295Puppy plus setup
Monthly average$318Across the whole life
Documented conditions29from 32 measured figures

The short answer

A Poodle puppy runs $1,500 to $3,500. The first year comes to about $7,295, then roughly $3,421 a year in routine care.

An estimate, not a sourced price. Puppy prices vary three to fivefold with color, line, region and breeder, and no comprehensive US price dataset exists. Where we have checked ours against published per-breed guides they have tracked closely, but this remains the least certain input on the page and is counted in the estimated share below.

Median asking price: $1,700 The median asking price across 61 US breeder listings is $1,700. That is what the open market advertises, and it is not the same as what a breeder doing full health testing charges. It sits inside our range. Why the cheapest puppy costs the most.16

The largest measured figure here is periodontal disease: 29% were seen for it in a year of veterinary care. None of the 32 measured figures here are an annual clinical rate with a matching treatment cost. Screening proportions and lifetime rates cannot be multiplied by a price, so we do not publish an expected health total for this breed.

About the Poodle

The Poodle is a German water retriever, despite the association with France, and the elaborate show clip descends from a working trim that left fur over the joints and chest while cutting drag elsewhere. It is bred in three sizes that the American Kennel Club counts as one breed, so registration figures and much of the health research pool Standard, Miniature and Toy dogs together.

That pooling matters when reading this page: a Standard Poodle and a Toy Poodle differ more in size than many separate breeds do, and the figures below rarely separate them. What is consistent is the coat. A curly coat that does not shed has to be clipped every six to eight weeks for life, which is the single largest recurring cost here and the reason this breed totals more than several larger dogs.

A measured median lifespan of 14 years is well above the 12.5 years for dogs generally. Lifetime cost runs to about $53,397, the highest of the twenty most popular breeds, and grooming rather than veterinary care is what drives it.

How long Poodles actually live

The measured median age at death is 14 years, from a study of 584,734 dogs. Breed standards usually quote 10 to 18 years, which describes the standard rather than what was recorded. 10

Every cost figure on this page is calculated across 14 years, so lifespan is the most load-bearing number here. It was measured in a UK population, and the American comparison sits below.

This breed, UK 14 yrs Measured median age at death across 584,734 dogs10
large dogs, US 11.51 yrs Life expectancy at birth from 13.3 million US dogs13

US life expectancy at birth for large purebred dogs was 11.51 years, from 13.3 million dogs at Banfield hospitals. That study grouped dogs by adult body size and states that differences between breeds within a size group were not captured, so this is not a US figure for poodles specifically. It is the American number for dogs of this size, set beside the British number for this breed.

The boys and I took our standard poodle out into the backyard for the exercise while I practiced my action photography.
Tim Wilson from Blaine, MN, USACC BY 2.0
Lifespan

14 years, measured

Not a breed-standard range. This is the median age at death recorded across thousands of Poodles in the largest study of canine longevity yet published.

Long enough that the routine costs, not the dramatic ones, make up most of what you will spend.

Bloat, the emergency this breed is built for

A cohort breed

Poodles were one of eleven large and giant breeds followed prospectively for gastric dilatation-volvulus. Incidence across the large breeds was 23 cases per 1,000 dog-years and across the giant breeds 26.16

What is at stake. Bloat is a surgical emergency measured in hours, not days. Roughly 44% of dogs presented for it are euthanized. Without a gastropexy it recurs in up to 80% of survivors, with a median survival of 188 days after the first episode.

What you can do. A prophylactic gastropexy tacks the stomach to the body wall and cuts recurrence to under 5%. It is usually done during spay or neuter, when the dog is already under anesthesia and the added cost is small. For a deep-chested giant breed this is the single most consequential conversation to have with a vet before the first year is out.

The cohort data was collected in the 1990s and the prevalence figures come from referral populations, which skew toward affected dogs. No newer prospective study of this exists. Treat the ranking as reliable and the exact percentage as approximate.

Independent Swedish data, 2011-2014

Airway. A study of 453,548 insured Swedish dogs across 327 breeds found this breed at significantly raised risk of upper respiratory disease, reported for the Standard Poodle, and a predisposition not previously reported anywhere. The study reports incidence per dog-year rather than a prevalence, so it does not appear as a percentage above. Its authors note that owners and vets often accept the signs of airway obstruction until they are severe, so the true rate is higher than recorded. 16

Swedish insurance records are a separate population from the British clinical records and American owner reports elsewhere on this page. A claims threshold means minor problems never appear at all.

How often owners report nothing wrong at all

26.88% of 465 poodles in a US survey of 27,541 dogs had no medical condition reported by their owner at all. The purebred average was 22.3% and the mixed-breed average 20.7%. The range across the 25 breeds studied ran from 34.81% down to 8.81%.5

This is the mirror image of everything else on this page, and worth reading alongside it. Owner surveys miss things a vet would catch, so treat it as how often a problem was noticed rather than how often one existed.

27% no conditions reported 5th of 23 of the breeds studied

How much likelier than other dogs

How much likelier this breed is than the comparison group. A ratio is not a prevalence and cannot be converted into one.

  • 2.17xAcute diarrhea, against crossbred dogs 12 From 2,250,417 UK dogs. One-year incidence across all dogs was 8.18%, roughly one dog in twelve.

Food, grooming and boarding are no longer typed in per breed. Food comes from the veterinary Resting Energy Requirement for a 45 to 70 pound dog, priced at 2026 US kibble rates with a 20% allowance for treats.15 Grooming assumes a curly coat on a large dog at national average prices. Boarding assumes eight nights a year, which is the most assumption-heavy figure here and will be wrong for anyone who travels a lot or never travels at all.

Figures on this page were last checked against their sources on August 16, 2026. Every one carries its study and the population it was measured in. How we calculate.

Health problems and what they cost

Every price here is American. Health figures lead with a US study wherever one exists, with British research alongside it, because several of the largest disorder studies in veterinary medicine are UK work and no US equivalent has been published. Where both appear, the American figure comes first. Why American data is so scarce.

Each row shows the figure exactly as the study measured it. We do not convert one kind of measurement into another, because a screening result, an owner survey and a clinical record answer different questions.

  • Clinical records One-year prevalence in veterinary records for this breed. The strongest evidence available.
  • Owner reported Prevalence among living surveyed dogs at one point in time. Undercounts what owners do not notice, and is not lifetime risk.
  • Lifetime, owner reported The share of owners who report the dog has ever had it. Counts everything across a life, so it runs higher than a one-year rate and is not comparable with one.
  • Followed cohort A group of dogs enrolled young and followed for life, with diagnoses confirmed by a vet. Cumulative and still accruing, so surviving dogs remain at risk and the figure is a floor.
  • Screened dogs The share of dogs submitted to the OFA registry that evaluated abnormal. Submission is voluntary and skewed toward good stock, and a radiographic finding is not the same as needing treatment.
  • All dogs Measured across the whole dog population, not this breed. Context only.

Health data from 7 peer-reviewed sources. Prices from 2 US sources. Full list below.

Organ-system context. These are broad categories that already contain the specific conditions below. They are shown for scale and added to no total, because that would count the same disease twice.

  • Skin disease36%
  • Digestive disease30%
  • Musculoskeletal disease15%
  • Dental disease—

Pyometra

33% of intact female Poodles were diagnosed with pyometra by ten years of age, from 257 cases among 2,319 insured dogs. This affects females only, and spaying prevents pyometra entirely. This figure is for the Large Poodle; the paper reports the Toy Poodle separately. No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

33% Followed cohort 3
2,319 intact female Poodles insured in Sweden, followed to 10 years of age
Not priced No cost source

Periodontal disease

Diagnosed in 28.9% of Poodles in the largest study of periodontal disease ever run in dogs, covering 2.8 million US dogs over five years. Diagnosis was by visual assessment of conscious dogs, so the true rate is higher. Reported by the study for the Toy Poodle, with the Miniature Poodle at 28.2%. This site treats all three Poodle sizes as one breed, following the AKC, and periodontal risk falls as body size rises, so a Standard Poodle should be expected below this figure. No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

29% Clinical records 4
2,841,038 US dogs at Banfield hospitals over five years
Not priced No cost source

Dental calculus

No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

18% Lifetime, owner reported 5
27,541 US companion dogs in the Dog Aging Project, owner reported
Not priced No cost source

Mammary tumor

15% of intact female Poodles were diagnosed with mammary tumors by ten years of age, from 108 cases among 2,319 insured dogs. This affects females only, and spaying substantially reduces mammary tumor risk. This figure is for the Large Poodle; the paper reports the Toy Poodle separately. No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

15% Followed cohort 3
2,319 intact female Poodles insured in Sweden, followed to 10 years of age
Not priced No cost source

Ear infection (otitis externa)

12% Lifetime, owner reported 5
27,541 US companion dogs in the Dog Aging Project, owner reported
2% Owner reported 8
Live UK Kennel Club registered dogs, owner reported US comparison: 7% of 52,599 US dogs reported ear infection at some point in life 11
7% All dogs 7
Random sample of 22,333 UK dogs under primary veterinary care in 2016 US comparison: 7% of 52,599 US dogs reported ear infection at some point in life 11
$100–$270 Per year if ongoing

Hip dysplasia

Radiographic evaluation. 11.6% of 42,265 evaluated Poodles were graded abnormal. Dogs are submitted voluntarily, mostly by breeders screening good stock, so the true rate in the breed is higher. Priced as a total hip replacement, the usual choice for a dog this size. Total hip replacement with a prosthesis. Usual choice for larger dogs, and roughly double an FHO. Referral hospitals price higher. Not every dysplastic dog needs surgery, and both hips roughly doubles it.

12% Screened dogs 6
Dogs voluntarily submitted to the OFA registry, predominantly breeding stock
$3,500–$7,000 Per episode

Extracted teeth

No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

11% Lifetime, owner reported 5
27,541 US companion dogs in the Dog Aging Project, owner reported
Not priced No cost source

Dog bite

No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

8% Lifetime, owner reported 5
27,541 US companion dogs in the Dog Aging Project, owner reported
Not priced No cost source

Sebaceous cysts

No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

8% Lifetime, owner reported 5
27,541 US companion dogs in the Dog Aging Project, owner reported
Not priced No cost source

Giardia

No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

8% Lifetime, owner reported 5
27,541 US companion dogs in the Dog Aging Project, owner reported
Not priced No cost source

Cataracts

No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

7% Lifetime, owner reported 5
27,541 US companion dogs in the Dog Aging Project, owner reported
Not priced No cost source

Anal sac impaction

Third most common. Cheap per visit, frequent enough to add up over a lifetime.

7% All dogs 1
UK primary-care dogs, all breeds US comparison: 2% of 52,599 US dogs reported anal sac impaction at some point in life 11
$84–$226 Per year if ongoing

Heart murmur

No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

6% Lifetime, owner reported 5
27,541 US companion dogs in the Dog Aging Project, owner reported
Not priced No cost source

Chocolate toxicity

Chocolate poisoning, which the Dog Aging Project records simply as 'chocolate' in its condition list. It is one of the most common toxicities in dogs and is an accident rather than an inherited risk, so this figure says more about how many households keep chocolate within reach than about the breed. No treatment-cost source matches this condition, so it is not priced.

6% Lifetime, owner reported 5
27,541 US companion dogs in the Dog Aging Project, owner reported
Not priced No cost source

Skin cyst

Reported in 5.14% of Poodles in a survey of 43,005 UK dogs across 192 breeds (95% CI 3.03 to 8.59%). Owner-reported, so it understates conditions owners do not recognize. No treatment-cost source matches this condition. Rather than price it using an unrelated procedure, we leave it unpriced.

5% Owner reported 8
Live UK Kennel Club registered dogs, owner reported
Not priced No cost source

Conjunctivitis

5% Lifetime, owner reported 5
27,541 US companion dogs in the Dog Aging Project, owner reported
2% Owner reported 8
Live UK Kennel Club registered dogs, owner reported
$224–$604 Per episode

Elbow dysplasia

Often bilateral, which doubles the surgical cost. 3.4% of 11,527 evaluated Poodles were graded abnormal. Dogs are submitted voluntarily, mostly by breeders screening good stock, so the true rate in the breed is higher. Arthroscopic treatment of elbow dysplasia. Often bilateral, which roughly doubles it.

3% Screened dogs 6
Dogs voluntarily submitted to the OFA registry, predominantly breeding stock US comparison: 0.6% of 52,599 US dogs reported elbow dysplasia at some point in life 11
$3,000–$5,000 Per episode

Patellar luxation

Kneecap slips out of its groove. Mild grades are managed; severe grades are surgical. 2.7% of 15,564 evaluated Poodles were graded abnormal. Dogs are submitted voluntarily, mostly by breeders screening good stock, so the true rate in the breed is higher. Per knee. A grade I in a small dog can be under $2,000; a grade IV in a large breed with both knees affected can exceed $6,000.

3% Screened dogs 6
Dogs voluntarily submitted to the OFA registry, predominantly breeding stock US comparison: 2% of 52,599 US dogs reported patellar luxation at some point in life 11
$1,000–$5,000 Per episode

Addison's disease (primary hypoadrenocorticism)

Reported in 1.98% of Poodles in a survey of 43,005 UK dogs across 192 breeds (95% CI 0.85 to 4.54%). Owner-reported, so it understates conditions owners do not recognize.

2% Owner reported 8
Live UK Kennel Club registered dogs, owner reported
$1,420–$3,822 Per year if ongoing

Tumor, type not specified

Reported in 1.98% of Poodles in a survey of 43,005 UK dogs across 192 breeds (95% CI 0.85 to 4.54%). Owner-reported, so it understates conditions owners do not recognize.

2% Owner reported 8
Live UK Kennel Club registered dogs, owner reported
$3,415–$9,194 Per episode

Hypothyroidism

Cheap to treat, lifelong. Daily medication plus periodic bloodwork. 1.7000000000000002% of 8,069 evaluated Poodles were graded abnormal. Dogs are submitted voluntarily, mostly by breeders screening good stock, so the true rate in the breed is higher.

2% Screened dogs 6
Dogs voluntarily submitted to the OFA registry, predominantly breeding stock US comparison: 2% of 52,599 US dogs reported hypothyroidism at some point in life 11
$169–$455 Per year if ongoing

Entropion

Reported in 1.58% of Poodles in a survey of 43,005 UK dogs across 192 breeds (95% CI 0.62 to 3.99%). Owner-reported, so it understates conditions owners do not recognize.

2% Owner reported 8
Live UK Kennel Club registered dogs, owner reported
$449–$1,209 Per episode

Congenital heart disease

Screening for heart defects present from birth. 0.1% of 6,405 evaluated Poodles were graded abnormal. Dogs are submitted voluntarily, mostly by breeders screening good stock, so the true rate in the breed is higher.

0.1% Screened dogs 6
Dogs voluntarily submitted to the OFA registry, predominantly breeding stock
$534–$1,438 Per year if ongoing

Addison's disease

Over-represented in Standard Poodles. Needs sourcing.

No published rate
$1,420–$3,822 Per year if ongoing

Also recorded in this breed, with a measured rate but no matching treatment-cost source.

  • Lipoma 2% Live UK Kennel Club registered dogs, owner reported
  • Ear mite infestation 2% Live UK Kennel Club registered dogs, owner reported
  • Degenerative myelopathy 0.4% Dogs voluntarily submitted to the OFA registry, predominantly breeding stock
Poodle
Wenceslaus HollarPublic domain
What it costs

What you will actually pay

$53,397

Across 14 years. About $3,421 a year after the first, which carries the purchase price and setup.

82% of that comes from measured prices. The rest is the puppy and retail assumptions you can adjust.

Where the money goes

The cost of owning the dog, year by year. Health spending is not included here: it is uncertain by nature and is set out separately above.

What makes up the total

Cost to own $53,397
  • Puppy and setup$3,874
  • Routine care$49,523
Puppy and setup Routine care
Yr 1
$7,295
Yr 2
$3,421
Yr 3
$3,421
Yr 4
$3,421
Yr 5
$3,421
Yr 6
$3,602
Yr 7
$3,602
Yr 8
$3,602
Yr 9
$3,602
Yr 10
$3,602
Yr 11
$3,602
Yr 12
$3,602
Yr 13
$3,602
Yr 14
$3,602
The boys and I took our standard poodle out into the backyard for the exercise while I practiced my action photography.
Tim Wilson from Blaine, MN, USACC BY 2.0
Before you buy

What to ask the breeder

Ask this breeder for certificates on hip dysplasia (12% of screened dogs abnormal), elbow dysplasia (3% of screened dogs abnormal). Those are the screenings where Poodles score worst in the OFA registry, so they are the ones worth seeing paperwork for. A breeder who has done the testing will produce it without being pushed; one who has not will talk about how healthy their line is instead.

Where you live changes the number

Veterinary prices vary by more than half across the country. Everything above is a national average. Pick your state to see what it means for you.

What a Poodle costs where you live

Average dog vet visit, $57 in West Virginia to $127 in Hawaii. Tap a state.

See all 51 in a table
Average dog veterinary visit cost by state
StateAvg visitvs nationalLifetime here
Hawaii $127 +81% $70,085
Massachusetts $99 +41% $61,865
District of Columbia $97 +38% $61,278
California $94 +34% $60,397
Alaska $84 +20% $57,461
New York $83 +18% $57,168
Maryland $79 +13% $55,993
Vermont $78 +11% $55,700
New Jersey $77 +10% $55,406
Washington $77 +10% $55,406
Connecticut $76 +8% $55,112
New Hampshire $76 +8% $55,112
Rhode Island $76 +8% $55,112
Oregon $75 +7% $54,819
Maine $74 +5% $54,525
Arizona $73 +4% $54,232
Colorado $72 +3% $53,938
Florida $70 0% $53,351
Montana $70 0% $53,351
Utah $70 0% $53,351
Delaware $69 -2% $53,057
Idaho $69 -2% $53,057
Nevada $69 -2% $53,057
Virginia $69 -2% $53,057
North Carolina $66 -6% $52,177
South Carolina $66 -6% $52,177
Wisconsin $66 -6% $52,177
Wyoming $65 -7% $51,883
Illinois $64 -9% $51,589
Minnesota $64 -9% $51,589
Nebraska $64 -9% $51,589
Ohio $64 -9% $51,589
Pennsylvania $64 -9% $51,589
Kentucky $63 -10% $51,296
Louisiana $63 -10% $51,296
New Mexico $63 -10% $51,296
South Dakota $63 -10% $51,296
Texas $63 -10% $51,296
Georgia $62 -12% $51,002
Indiana $62 -12% $51,002
North Dakota $62 -12% $51,002
Tennessee $62 -12% $51,002
Iowa $61 -13% $50,709
Michigan $61 -13% $50,709
Missouri $60 -14% $50,415
Alabama $59 -16% $50,122
Arkansas $58 -17% $49,828
Kansas $58 -17% $49,828
Oklahoma $58 -17% $49,828
Mississippi $57 -19% $49,534
West Virginia $57 -19% $49,534

Source: 2025-2026 Synchrony Average Procedural Cost Study, ASQ360 Market Research, all 50 states and DC. We apply each state's index only to the veterinary share of the total. Food, grooming, boarding and the puppy price stay at the national figure, because a state's vet pricing says nothing about what a breeder or a bag of kibble costs there.

Poodle
Tim Wilson from Blaine, MN, USACC BY 2.0
Veterinary care

The number most owners get wrong

$598

is what dog owners actually spend on veterinary care in a year, measured by the AVMA. Following the recommended schedule costs $1,301.

The gap is care that does not happen. Only 14% of dogs receive dental care at a vet's office, and 80% have periodontal disease by age three.

What veterinary care actually costs

Two measured figures that disagree, and the gap is the point.

If you follow the schedule $1,301 a year. An annual exam, twelve months of flea, tick and heartworm prevention at average retail, and a dental cleaning. Priced from a 50-state study of what US clinics charge.
What dog owners actually spend $598 a year on all veterinary care, measured by the AVMA across US dog owners. Less than half the figure on the left.

The $703 gap is care that does not happen. We show the higher figure in the total for this breed, because it is what the recommended schedule costs. If you expect to spend closer to the average, the real total for a Poodle is nearer $41,926.

Where the gap comes from

This is not owners being careless. It is the single largest difference between what veterinary medicine recommends and what actually happens, and dental care is most of it.

  • 14%of dogs receive dental care at a veterinary office, in an AVMA owner survey, against a guideline of a cleaning under anaesthesia every year for small breeds and every one to two years for larger ones.
  • Two thirdsof pet owners do not provide the dental care their veterinarian recommends, according to the AAHA.
  • 80%of dogs have some periodontal disease by age three. It is the most commonly diagnosed condition in adult dogs, and most of it sits below the gumline where an owner cannot see it.
  • Roughly a quarterof dog owners reported skipping veterinary visits altogether in the year the AVMA last measured it.

This matters for budgeting in an uncomfortable way. The lower figure is what people spend, not what a dog needs. A dental cleaning deferred is often a set of extractions later, which costs several times more and is not preventive care any insurer will cover.

How much of the total is sourced

82% of the $53,397 figure comes from measured prices: veterinary care from a 50-state cost study, and the lifespan it is spread over from a study of 584,734 dogs. The remaining 18%, about $9,840, is an observed market range for the puppy plus retail assumptions for supplies, a training course and boarding. Those are the numbers to adjust if your situation differs: plenty of people never board a dog.

Dental and visit statistics from the AVMA and the AAHA, 2026. Recommended care priced from the 2025-2026 Synchrony/CareCredit procedural cost study. Actual spending from the AVMA 2025 Pet Ownership and Demographic Sourcebook, self-reported by owners.

Insurance for a Poodle

Coverage is protection against an uncommon large bill. It is not a way to save money on the care you already know is coming.

A standard policy costs $836 a year on average for accident and illness cover, so $2,660 across 14 years. Premiums rose 11.5% last year.
It will not cover $1,301 a year of routine care, preventatives and dental, which no standard policy pays for

The bills it exists for

Documented conditions in this breed where a single episode runs into the thousands. We are not telling you how likely these are, because the prevalence evidence is not strong enough to carry that claim.

  • Tumor, type not specified
    $3,415–$9,194
  • Hip dysplasiaPriced as a total hip replacement, the usual choice for a dog this size.
    $3,500–$7,000
  • Elbow dysplasiaArthroscopic treatment of elbow dysplasia.
    $3,000–$5,000
  • Patellar luxationPer knee.
    $1,000–$5,000
  • Addison's disease
    $1,420–$3,822 a year, ongoing

What the tiers actually buy

Average US premiums for a dog, for the year ended December 2025.

  • Accident onlyInjuries, not illness. Cheap because it covers far less.
    $190 a year
  • Accident and illnessThe standard policy and the one most figures refer to. Up 11.5% on last year.
    $836 a year
  • With embedded wellnessAdds routine care. Compare it against what routine care actually costs before assuming it saves money.
    $1,414 a year

What actually decides whether a claim is paid

Not the breed, and usually not the premium. Carrier terms verified August 2026; they change, and they vary by state.

Hereditary and congenital conditions are usually covered
This is the most common misconception about pet insurance. Every major US carrier covers inherited and congenital conditions on a standard accident-and-illness policy, provided they are not pre-existing. Trupanion covers them with no payout limit. Embrace covers them with no per-condition or per-incident limit at no extra cost, and states that its policies fully cover breed-specific conditions. Healthy Paws covers them too. Nationwide makes hereditary and congenital a coverage option you select rather than an automatic inclusion. Cheaper and accident-only policies sometimes exclude them entirely, so it is worth confirming in writing.
Most pre-existing conditions are excluded
Anything your dog has shown signs of before coverage began, or during the waiting period, is normally excluded. This, not heredity, is what actually stops most claims being paid. The detail varies more than people expect: several carriers will cover a condition they classify as curable once the dog has been symptom-free and treatment-free for a set period, commonly twelve months, subject to state rules and the policy wording. It is also why enrolling a healthy puppy costs less and excludes less than insuring a dog that already has a history.
Orthopedic waiting periods vary a lot
The clearest example of why the carrier matters more than the breed. Healthy Paws applies a 12-month waiting period to anything related to hip dysplasia, and will not cover it at all if the dog was enrolled at six years or older. Trupanion applies its standard 30-day illness waiting period. Some carriers will waive an orthopedic wait after a vet exam. For any breed with joint risk, this single clause can matter more than the premium.
Standard waiting periods
Typically 2 to 30 days for illness and 2 to 5 days for accidents. Trupanion is 5 days for injury and 30 for illness. Embrace is 14 days for illness. Nothing that appears during the wait is covered.
Bilateral condition rule
If one side of a paired body part was affected before coverage, many carriers exclude the other side too. Relevant for hips, elbows, knees, eyes and ears.
Age at enrollment
Premiums rise with age, some carriers cap new enrollment, and some restrict specific conditions for older enrollees. Healthy Paws requires enrollment before the 14th birthday and drops hip dysplasia cover from age six.

Premium range from NAPHIA industry data. Coverage terms from published carrier policies and independent reviews, checked 16 August 2026. We are not an insurance agency, we do not sell policies, and we make no recommendation. Terms vary by carrier and policy, and the exclusions in your own policy govern.

First year breakdown

Poodle first year costs
ItemWhat it coversCost
Puppy purchaseObserved market range, not an authoritative source$2,500
Vaccine seriesThree rounds plus rabies$235
Spay or neuterIncludes anesthesia and monitoring$471
SuppliesCrate, harness, bedding, bowls$420
FoodAbout 3.4 cups daily at maturity, computed from body weight$675
Groomingcurly coat, large dog$965
BoardingEight nights a year at an average rate$480
PreventativesFlea, tick, heartworm$708
Training classSix week group course$200
MicrochipOne time$48
First year total$7,295

Worth knowing

Ask this breeder for certificates on hip dysplasia (12% of screened dogs abnormal), elbow dysplasia (3% of screened dogs abnormal). Those are the screenings where Poodles score worst in the OFA registry, so they are the ones worth seeing paperwork for. A breeder who has done the testing will produce it without being pushed; one who has not will talk about how healthy their line is instead.

Feeding an adult

At 58 lb, roughly 1293 kcal a day, about 3.4 cups at 380 kcal per cup.

Advertisement

Compare coverage for a Poodle

Premiums run $190 to $1,414 a year. Routine care of roughly $1,301 a year is not covered by any standard policy, so compare on what happens when something expensive and unexpected occurs.

Why Poodles cost what they do

The price

This is one of the most registered breeds in America, and sustained demand keeps prices firm even though litters are normal size and whelping is usually straightforward. Expect $1,500 to $3,500 from a breeder who health tests. That figure is an observed market range rather than a sourced statistic, and it is the least reliable number on this page. Everything after the purchase is more predictable: about $3,421 a year in food, grooming, boarding, routine veterinary care, preventatives and dental.

The build

Size itself is a cost driver. Larger dogs live shorter lives, carry more weight through the same joints, need larger doses of every medication, and cost more for every procedure that is priced by body weight. Cardiac screening flags 0.1% of evaluated dogs as abnormal, which is why a cardiac certificate is worth asking for in this breed.

Common questions

How much does a Poodle cost?

A Poodle puppy costs $1,500 to $3,500. The first year totals about $7,295 including vaccines, neutering and supplies, then roughly $3,421 a year after that. Across a median lifespan of 14 years that is about $53,397 to own. Health costs sit outside that figure and are listed separately, because the evidence is not strong enough to reduce them to one number.

What health problems do Poodles have?

The largest measured figure is periodontal disease: 29% were seen for it in a year of veterinary care. We have no treatment-cost source for it yet. Each figure on the page states the population it was measured in, because these are different kinds of measurement and are not interchangeable.

Is pet insurance worth it for a Poodle?

A standard accident-and-illness policy averaged $836 a year in the latest published industry figures. Held flat, that is about $11,704 across 14 years, though real premiums rise with age and vary by carrier, state, deductible and reimbursement level, so treat it as a benchmark rather than a quote. Accident-only cover is cheaper at about $190 a year but pays nothing toward illness, and policies with a wellness rider reach $1,414 while mostly prepaying routine care you would buy anyway. Routine care of about $1,301 a year is not covered by any standard policy. Coverage is protection against an uncommon large bill, not a way to save money on predictable care. What decides whether a claim is paid is usually the policy mechanics rather than the breed: pre-existing conditions, waiting periods and bilateral rules.

Sources

Grade A is a peer-reviewed prevalence figure from a large primary-care population. Grade B needs a conversion or comes from a single market. Grade C and D are weaker and labeled wherever they appear.

  1. 1
    VetCompass 2014Grade AData 2013O'Neill DG, Church DB, McGreevy PD, Thomson PC, Brodbelt DC. Prevalence of disorders recorded in dogs attending primary-care veterinary practices in England. PLOS ONE. 2014;9(3):e90501.148,741 dogs across 93 UK clinics; 3,884 records reviewed in detailView source
  2. 2
    Synchrony/CareCredit 2026Grade BData 2025-20262025-2026 Synchrony Average Procedural Cost Study for Veterinary Practices Across the United States, conducted by ASQ360 Market Research. Published by CareCredit.All 50 US states and the District of ColumbiaView source
  3. 3
    Agria pyometra and mammary tumorsGrade BData 1995-2006Jitpean S, Hagman R, Strom Holst B, Hoglund OV, Pettersson A, Egenvall A. Breed variations in the incidence of pyometra and mammary tumours in Swedish dogs. Reproduction in Domestic Animals 2012;47(Suppl 6):347-350, Table 1.Over 260,000 female dogs insured with Agria in Sweden 1995 to 2006, 110 breeds, followed to 10 years of ageCollected more than 15 years ago. Kept because no newer study of this exists, not because it is current.View source
  4. 4
    Wallis 2021 periodontalGrade BData 2016-2021Wallis C, Saito EK, Salt C, Holcombe LJ, Desforges NG. Association of periodontal disease with breed size, breed, weight, and age in pure-bred client-owned dogs in the United States. The Veterinary Journal 2021;275:105717.2,841,038 US dogs across 14,746,691 visits over five years at Banfield hospitals, covering 60 breedsView source
  5. 5
    Dog Aging Project breeds 2023Grade BData 2019-2022Forsyth KK, McCoy BM, Schmid SM, Promislow DEL, Snyder-Mackler N, the DAP Consortium. Lifetime prevalence of owner-reported medical conditions in the 25 most common dog breeds in the Dog Aging Project pack. Frontiers in Veterinary Science. 2023;10:1140417.27,541 US companion dogs enrolled in the Dog Aging Project, owner reportedView source
  6. 6
    OFAGrade CData 1974-2026Orthopedic Foundation for Animals, Disease Statistics by Breed. Cumulative evaluations submitted to the OFA registry.US. Voluntarily submitted screening evaluations, not a random population sampleView source
  7. 7
    VetCompass 2021Grade AData 2016O'Neill DG, James H, Brodbelt DC, Church DB, Pegram C. Prevalence of commonly diagnosed disorders in UK dogs under primary veterinary care: results and applications. BMC Veterinary Research. 2021;17:69.Random sample of 22,333 UK dogs from 784 clinics during 2016View source
  8. 8
    KC survey 2017Grade CData 2014Wiles BM, Llewellyn-Zaidi AM, Evans KM, O'Neill DG, Lewis TW. Large-scale survey to estimate the prevalence of disorders for 192 Kennel Club registered breeds. Canine Genetics and Epidemiology. 2017;4:8.43,005 UK dogs across 192 Kennel Club breeds, owner-reportedView source
  9. 9
    Orthopedic price guides 2026Grade CData 2026Published US veterinary price guides and specialist clinic fee pages for hip, elbow and patellar surgery, cross-checked across MetLife Pet Insurance, Lemonade, Vety, PetPlanWise, SustainableVet and SurgiPet. Retrieved 16 August 2026.US, general and referral practiceView source
  10. 10
    McMillan 2024Grade AData 2016-2020McMillan KM, Bielby J, Williams CL, Upjohn MM, Casey RA, Christley RM. Longevity of companion dog breeds: those at risk from early death. Scientific Reports. 2024;14:531.584,734 UK dogs including 284,734 deceased, across 155 breedsView source
  11. 11
    Dog Aging Project HLESGrade BData 2019-2025Dog Aging Project. Curated Data Summary Tables, Health and Life Experience Survey, 2025 release. Retrieved 17 August 2026.52,599 US dogs enrolled in the Dog Aging Project, owner reportedView source
  12. 12
    VetCompass diarrhea 2025Grade AData 2019Acute diarrhoea in dogs under UK primary veterinary care: epidemiology, presentation and breed risk. PLOS ONE. 2025.2,250,417 UK dogs under primary veterinary careView source
  13. 13
    Banfield US life expectancyGrade AData 2013-2019Montoya M, Morrison JA, Arrignon F, Spofford N, Charles H, Hours M-A, Biourge V. Life expectancy tables for dogs and cats derived from clinical data. Frontiers in Veterinary Science. 2023;10:1082102.13,292,929 unique dogs at 1,152 Banfield hospitals across the USAView source
  14. 14
    AKC 2025 registrationsGrade AData 2025American Kennel Club. Most Popular Dog Breeds of 2025, from AKC registration statistics covering 202 recognized breeds.AKC registration statistics for the 2025 calendar yearView source
  15. 15
    Care cost model 2026Grade CData 2026The Breed Report care cost model. Food is computed from the veterinary Resting Energy Requirement, RER = 70 x (kg^0.75), times a 1.6 maintenance factor for a neutered adult, divided by kibble caloric density, priced at 2026 US retail. Grooming and boarding are computed from 2026 US national average prices by body size and coat type. Inputs and assumptions are published in full.Computed per breed from measured weight and coat typeView source

Each figure is shown as the study measured it, with the population beside it. We do not convert one kind of measurement into another. See the full method. Not veterinary advice.